The Mauthe String Quartet

Download PDF Biography

The Cleveland-based Mauthe String Quartet formed with the central purpose of engaging and enriching the community. Its members have been faculty, guest clinicians, and master class instructors in public schools, youth orchestras, and preparatory programs in the Cleveland area and around the country, including the Preparatory programs of the Cleveland Institute of Music and San Francisco Conservatory of Music. They have been faculty and artist-in-residence at such programs as the Chamber Music Albuquerque Summer Ensemble Workshop, the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Chamber Music Workshop, and at Appalachian State University. The members of the Mauthe String Quartet have also attended numerous music festivals around the world, including Blossom, Aspen, Meadowmount, Interlochen, the Brevard Chamber Music Seminar, New York Strings, the MasterWorks Festival, Schlern International Chamber Music Festival, Zephyr International Music Festival in Italy, and the Crescendo Summer Institute in Hungary.

Violinist Ruth Bacon is a native of Albuquerque, New Mexico, and received her BM in Violin Performance, Violin Pedagogy, and Vocal Performance from the University of New Mexico. She is currently pursuing a MM at the Cleveland Institute of Music with William Preucil.

Erica Ward, violinist, is an Oregon native and received her MM from the Cleveland Institute of Music and BM from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Her principal teachers were Paul Kantor, Wei He, and Camilla Wicks.

Violist Rebekah Newman grew up in Michigan. She studied at the Cleveland Institute of Music, where she recieved her BM in Viola Performance with a minor in violin. While at CIM, Rebekah studied with Mark Jackobs, Linda Cerone, and David Russell.

Cellist Robert Nicholson is from Tampa, Florida, and received his BM from Peabody Conservatory, and his MM in Orchestral Performance at Manhattan School of Music, where he studied with Alan Stepansky. He also serves as Assistant Director of the Halo Ensemble.